Vegan friendly cocktails

In honor of Earth Day this month we want to highlight some ways to be more eco-friendly. Avoiding animal products can help create a smaller footprint so here are some ways to make your favorite cocktails vegan! Most cocktails are already vegan friendly, however some contain ingredients such as egg whites, milks and honey. It's quite simple to substitute ingredients to convert your favorite cocktail into a vegan one.

Aquafaba for egg white

Aquafaba is the water from canned chickpeas (choose the unsalted variety). It works similarly to egg whites and will thicken and create a foam top. Some cocktails like a whiskey sour, amaretto sour, or a gin fizz have a foam top. Use like a normal egg white in the recipe. As a rule, two tablespoons of aquafaba is the equivalent of one egg white.


Plant based milks for regular dairy

Nut milks, oat milks, or coconut milk can be used in recipes that call for dairy. You can even make your own oat milk. To make oat milk, simply add 1 cup rolled oats + 4 cups water to a high-speed blender and blend on high for 30-45 seconds. Then strain through a clean t-shirt or tea towel to remove the most pulp. For recipes using heavier creams you can use coconut cream or almond cream.


Maple or simple syrup for honey

Some recipes call for honey or a honey syrup. You can easily sub a classic simple syrup (1 part water and 1 part sugar) or even maple syrup. Maple syrup will add a different flavor and some brands do add non vegan ingredients so just check your labels.


Choose vegan spirits

Our vegan options:

- Spring44 Vodka

- Spring44 Gin

- Spring44 Mountain Gin

- Spring44 Old Tom Gin


We use local honey to create a distillate for our Spring44 Honey Vodka. Honey is not considered vegan so strict vegans should avoid this spirit. Feel free to sub our Spring44 Vodka in those recipes.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All